The Reality of Mortality, Again…

13 01 2011

It wasn’t long ago I was writing a post about a friend who was much too young that passed away.  Now I’m back to do it again.  I have to say it’s already getting old and I’m planning on not doing a post like this again.  I’m just going to keep this short and sweet since it’s hard to drum up the motivation for a post like this.

 

I simply want to say thank you to Shad.

Thank you for cutting my hair and making me look FABULOUS for the last 15 years.

Thank you for always making me sit up straight.  Bad posture is a terrible habit.

Thank you for teaching me that a positive attitude will bring good in your life.  A bad attitude perpetuates itself.

Thank you for reminding me that I should trust my instincts.

Thank you for your joke of a day.  They always made me smile no matter how bad they were.

Thank you for be a constant foundation in my life.  Someone who I could always rely on to make me feel better about life than when I first walked into your shop.

Thank you for teaching me to be moderate in judgment and respectful of others’ lifestyles.  They may not have made a choice.

Thank you for always being a positive influence and such a shining personality.

Thank you for being more than just the guy who cuts my hair.

Thank you for being a friend to me and my family.

You had such a profound impact on my life.  So many of my beliefs have been influenced by you.  You were a big part of my life from age 13 on and I will always remember the things I’ve learned from you and the fond memories I have.  Rest well.

 

I want to encourage all the readers to take a minute and reflect on all the people in your life.  Think about the people who you interact with that you might take for granted.  Think about the influence and the impact that those people have on your life that you usually don’t consider.  You have more friends than you realize.  Next time you see them, thank them for being important.  Never be afraid to give a hug, and never leave someone’s company on bad terms.

 

Actions

Information

3 responses

13 01 2011
Shani

Yep, that one got to me. Life is too short, so say I love you, give hugs, take a leap of faith, be trusting, be forgiving.

13 01 2011
Phyllis Bolt

I am so sorry for your loss. And you are right we should tell the people in our lives how important they are to us. You are important to me and I share your pain. Keep your positive attitude!

13 01 2011
Dena Donnell

SUCH a good post Geoff. I wish I would have known him because he sounds absolutely wonderful. I hope the pain goes away for you soon. LOVE YOU!

Leave a Reply

