Random Musings

27 12 2010

I’m bored and feeling uninspired to write anything significant, and yet I feel the need to write SOMETHING.  I’m opening up the floodgates in my brain and letting whatever comes out flow onto this post.  This could be dangerous.  I’m not really sure what all  lurks in the deepest, darkest depths of my mind.  On the count of three, let the tidal wave begin…

1…

2…

3!

  • I don’t think I will EVER become truly used to having a job and getting up early.  I know I’ve only been a productive member of the work force for a little over two years, but this is not getting any easier.  I think it’s actually getting harder to get out of bed.  Not to mention only getting two days at Christmas is a far cry from the whole month I got in college.  I’m also pretty sure the zero days I get for summer break is not nearly as good as the three months in college.  Nothing like being thrown into the fire head first.  I’ve actually begun to equate the transition from college to the “real world” as something similar to the trauma a newborn faces in the birthing process…
  • I know Oklahoma weather is strange, but this is ridiculous.  Forecast for Thursday, December 30th: High of 67 degrees.  WHAT?!  67 degrees at the end of December?  It was below 20 yesterday morning.  I will never understand the weather in Oklahoma…
  • The Amazon Kindle is superior to the Barnes & Noble Nook.  If you are debating which one you should purchase trust me when I tell you to get the Kindle.  Just ask my girlfriend and two sisters…
  • I’m still sad that The Walking Dead is not on anymore.  I know the show will start back in October, but that seems so far away.  Luckily, V will be starting soon.  I also saw that Merlin is going to be returning.  This pleases me.  Upon further inspection you will notice that my favorite television shows include interesting topics such as zombies, aliens, and wizards.  In the land of nerds, I am king…
  • Grammar Pro-tip of the Day: Until recently, the jury was out for me on whether to include a comma between the second-to-last item in a list and the conjunction that binds the final item to the list.  Turns out there should be a comma.  (Correct: The weather is cold, windy, and rainy.  Incorrect: The weather is cold, windy and rainy.)  It turns out that newspapers deleted the final comma to save space.  I’m glad to have settled this in my head.  Welcome back, comma…
  • A Facebook friend told me today that “a sign that you’ve chosen the right career is if you spend your free time doing things of a similar nature to your work, and another sign is that you feel energized and excited to get into the office on Monday morning.”  We are both still looking for that one…
  • On a similar note, I just read this article that states 84% of the employees in the work force plan to look for new jobs in 2011, up from 60% last year.  If you are a manager or leader in your job, take note.  That’s a lot of dissatisfied workers…
  • I’m selling an L-shaped three-piece desk/dresser.  Anybody need some furniture?  It’s really quite nice…
  • The stock market was mixed today.  Big banks were up quite a bit…
  • Do you have any big plans for New Years?  My big plan is to finally move.  Plans are always subject to change of course.  I’ve never really had a great time on New Years.  It’s really just another day for me.  A day that I get off work.  I’m hoping to use that day off for productivity and moving, so wish me luck.  Tonight I’m going to go do some painting…
  • The Thunder play the Mavs tonight.  Thunder Up…

I think I’m all mused out.  Nothing too scary made it’s way into this post, but a number of random thoughts are present and accounted for.  Sometimes I want to write but have nothing to write about, so today I wrote about nothing.  I hope everyone had a Merry Christmas/Happy Hanukkah/Happy Kwanzaa/Pleasant Festivus.  I also want everyone to have a fantastic and safe New Years.  Maybe I will put together a goals and expectations for 2011 post. Maybe…

See you in 2011!

Actions

Information

One response

27 12 2010
xtina

what about writing prompt(s)?!

Leave a Reply

