It’s Time To Get Thankful!

24 11 2010

Happy Thanksgiving everybody!  Here we are, once again, at that special time of year we generally refer to as “The Holidays.”  The holidays have a lot of very interesting implications for people.  Each person views this time of year from Thanksgiving through New Years in very different ways.  Some people dread the stress and hustle/bustle of this time of year from gigantic family gatherings which require abundant amounts of food, cleaning, and planning.  The traffic and crowds associated with Christmas shopping can also add an extra helping of mashed brain stress.  On the flip side of things we have some really enjoyable consequences of the holidays.  This time of year let’s us reconvene with family members and friends that are often separated by vast distances.  We also get the opportunity to enjoy some gridiron matches from our favorite football franchises, both college and professional.

So as I sit here contemplating what this Thanksgiving means I feel I should share with all of you some of the things I’m thankful for.  Hopefully this will help you to forget some of the stresses of the holidays and remember what you are thankful for in this joyous time of year.  Without further adieu…. THE LIST:

  • DOGS: That’s right, I’m thankful for dogs.  Specifically big dogs.  Dogs are great, aren’t they?  In the movie Snatch the character Mickey, played by Brad Pitt, eloquently asks, “D’ya like dags?”  My response would most certainly be, “Indeed, Mickey.  I do like dogs.”


  • BICYCLES: You already know that I love my bicycles.  Road bikes.  Mountain bikes.  All bikes.  I offer you these quotes about bikes to help emphasize my passion for the two-wheeled human-powered velocipede:

The bicycle is the most civilized conveyance known to man.
Other forms of transport grow daily more nightmarish.
Only the bicycle remains pure in heart.
~Iris Murdoch, The Red and the Green

Why should anyone steal a watch when he could steal a bicycle? 
~Flann O’Brien

  • INK PENS: I hate pencils.  Pencils write like garbage.  Not to mention you can erase pencils.  What’s up with that?  When I write something down I want it to be transcribed into the annals of history FOR-EV-ER.  I don’t pencil you in, I pen you in.
  • THE WALKING DEAD: I love zombies.  Well, that’s not entirely accurate.  I hate zombies.  I will slay any and all zombies with the merciless precision of the ancient Japanese samurai.  If/when the zombie apocalypse arrives and you find yourself turned into a zombie, rest assured that I will end your tragic zombie existence with speed and efficiency.  What I do love is stuff ABOUT zombies.  The Walking Dead is a TV show on AMC about zombies.  It’s one of the best TV shows I’ve ever watched.  I’m thankful for it.
  • BEER: For obvious reasons.
  • MY BLOG: Without my blog… this post wouldn’t exist.  MIND BLOWN!

So there you have it folks.  Some of the things I’m thankful for this holiday season.  I encourage you all to sit down and really put some time and hard effort into thinking about what you are thankful for like I did.  It just might change your perspective on this holiday season.

I wish you all a very happy, safe, and zombie-free Thanksgiving!

Actions

Information

2 responses

24 11 2010
World Spinner

It's Time To Get Thankful! « The Long Spin…

Here at World Spinner we are debating the same thing……

24 11 2010
Dena Donnell

Well, sweet brother…in case you were wondering…I am thankful for YOU! Love you!

Leave a Reply

