Oklahoma City Marathon via Team In Training

12 11 2010

As pretty much everyone who reads this blog knows, I did a 100 mile bicycle ride with the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society’s Team In Training program.  It was an amazing experience where I accomplished something I said I would never do, I raised a bunch of money for the LLS mission of curing blood cancers, and I met some really amazing friends.  Every year Oklahoma City puts on an incredible event in April/May called the Oklahoma City Memorial Marathon.  This next year will be the 11th annual Memorial Marathon which was started to benefit the Oklahoma City bombing memorial and remember the horrible tragedy from 1995.  They do a full 26.2 mile marathon and a 13.1 half marathon.  It’s a really great and inspiring event.  The streets are lined with thousands of fans to cheer you on and get you to the finish line intact.  It’s a well supported run and a important tribute to the tragic 1995 bombing of the Murrah Building in OKC.  It truly is a run to remember.

The Oklahoma City Memorial Marathon is also a Team In Training supported event that has a very reasonable and low fundraising requirement of $1,000.  If you raise $1,000 you will gain entry into the event to either run OR walk the full OR half marathon, you will get some sweet Team In Training schwag like technical shirts for running, you will get access to fully supported and organized training with coaches, and you will get to experience what is considered one of the most emotional marathons in the country while raising money to support the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.  It really is a heck of a deal.

The reason I bring all of this up is two-fold.  1) I’m considering doing this even myself, and 2) I think you should do it too or pitch the idea to someone else you know who would like to do it!  It’s not too late to sign up, training is just about to get started (in fact, the first training run is tomorrow at 9:30am at Red Coyote in OKC, and there are training runs in Tulsa too).  Even if you miss the first couple training runs you still have plenty of time.  The actual event isn’t until May 1, 2011, so it’s even later than usual.

That’s pretty much it.  I just wanted to give everyone the heads up that they should really consider getting involved in this program because it can and will change your life.  Even if you have no experience running, or even if you aren’t in good shape you can complete this with great success.  There aren’t many things I recommend more highly than Team In Training events.  So once more I’ll post the links to the OKC Marathon website and Team In Training’s website and if you have any questions at all just leave a comment on here and I will get back to you.  Or you can even call me, email me, text me, facebook me, twitter me, smoke signal me, tie a string between two cans and hollar at me.  Whatever it takes, if you are even a little bit interested just do this, you will not regret it.

Team In Training Website: http://www.teamintraining.org/ntxok/

Oklahoma City Memorial Marathon Website: http://www.okcmarathon.com/

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

