Airplane Mode!

3 06 2010

Well, I haven’t had a blog post in quite some time, and for that, I apologize.  I got kind of lazy with it and I wasn’t sure everyone wanted to read about the same thing over and over and over again.  For example, all my posts have a pretty standard format: we rode our bikes, we rode them farther than last week, my butt hurts, give us your money.  I also failed miserably at taking pictures like I said I would.  Sorry for that as well.

Enough with the apologies though!  I’m here to make amends and give you the one final pre-ride update.  And I will even treat you to a couple of pictures I did take a couple of weeks ago and never posted (shame on me).  So first, let’s dispense with the pictures!  The first one is a picture of our ride to Stillwater a few weeks ago.  We took a day off work on a Wednesday and rode with some law enforcement folks from OKC to Stillwater for the Special Olympics Torch Run.  It was a really great experience and we had a great ride.  Except for this picture.  There were some railroad tracks that we crossed and managed to get 8 flat tires out of 12 people.  Thankfully we had plenty of spare tubes and lots of CO2 cartridges.

The next photo is of my arm after one of our Saturday rides.  We had about a 65 mile ride that started decently cold.  After shedding my long sleeves I completely neglected to put any sunblock on.  Needless to say, I’m an idiot and got what I deserved.  Let this serve as a Public Service Announcement to all of you that the sun is no joke.  It will burn you.  Painfully bad.  Remember to put on lots and lots of sunblock this summer as you are out enjoying the sunshine and hot weather.  Don’t be a Geoff because Geoff’s are dumb and get burned.

I don't look good in red...

So anyway, here I sit very excited about getting on a plane in the morning to head out to Lake Tahoe.  I’m not just excited though.  I’m honestly a little bit nervous because 100 miles is a long ways and it’s just kind of scary.  I know I’ve done all the training and I’m good to go but I’m still nervous.  I’m also sad.  I’ve had a really great time the last 3-4 months during training.  All my teammates have become really great friends.  We’ve not just been cycling together.  We’ve worried together, we’ve suffered together, we’ve shared our reasons for riding together, and we’ve all become friends through this great Team In Training program.   A few of us have even signed up for another 56 mile bike ride two weeks after Tahoe!  These really are great friends I’ve made.

Overall this has been an amazing experience and I haven’t even started the actual event yet.  I’ve made new friends, I’ve put myself on a path to become more fit and healthy through cycling, I’ve become involved in a new hobby (cycling) that I’ve found out I really love, and (most importantly) we’ve raised a big chunk of money for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.  All that’s left is for us to get on a plane tomorrow, head to Tahoe, and just enjoy the ride.  This weekend will be the longest ride of my life, 100 miles.  It will also be the greatest and most memorable ride of my life, and it was all to help fight and find a cure for blood cancers.  We are one step closer to finding a cure because of your donations and your support, so above all else I want to thank all of you who supported us on this endeavor.  My first event with the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society and Team In Training, and hopefully not my last.

I will promise you at least one more blog post after the event and more pictures will be incoming.  This time I’m serious!  Thanks again for all your support.  Wish us luck!  GO TEAM!!

Actions

Information

One response

3 06 2010
Dena Donnell

WOW…I can’t believe it is this weekend. Enjoy every minute of it!! Love you!

(By the way…the arm picture is hilarious!)

Leave a Reply

