The Midweek Race

5 03 2010

So last night was my dad and I’s second midweek race this week. Not literally a race though. I know I make jokes about the motor on my bike needing some work, but when it comes to racing I’m so serious. I wouldn’t try to race my 4-cylinder Mazda in the Daytona 500. What I mean by “The Midweek Race” is a race against the clock, or more accurately, a race against the sun. You will hear more from me about our weekend team rides than anything else but the shorter midweek training rides are just as important. Eventually, it won’t be a problem because we will hit daylight savings time and the days will get longer and we will have all the time in the world to ride! This week though, it’s not that easy.

This week, the sun sets at about 6:30pm. I get off work at 5:00pm and then the race begins. I hit the door as quick as I can and rush to my car. By the time I get out of our parking lot and on to the main road it’s already 5:10! “I’ll never make it!” I think to myself. Stop and go, red light after red light, sloooooooow Oklahoma drivers. So many obstacles to get in my way as I’m driving West, watching the sun slowly creep to the horizon taking with it my hopes and dreams of a nice evening bike ride in the middle of the week…

I finally pull up in front of my parents’ house around 5:30pm. At this point, I’m still wearing my suit, tie and all. I run inside, and what do I find? My father, all dressed up and ready to go, tires aired up, water bottle filled, patiently waiting on me. How is he ready so fast? (My guess is he sneaks out of work early!)

Anyway, at this point I’m furiously throwing my clothes off and jumping into my riding gear, trying to remember what the weather was like to see exactly what shirt to wear, what gloves to wear, what socks to wear. I come back in from the garage… I forgot my helmet, so I go back out to get it. I come back in… I forgot some Gatorade, so I go back out to get it. I come back in… I forgot my gloves. You get the picture.

FINALLY! We get out the door and clip into our pedals and slowly take off down the street with at least 45 minutes of daylight left! Everything else fades away. The stresses of the day and the worries of the world slowly roll right off my shoulders. It’s Thursday evening and I’m going for a nice 10 mile bike ride around Lake Overholser with my dad, just like we did on Tuesday. We made it with plenty of time to spare.

By the time we get back around to the East side of the lake we are riding into what has become a pretty healthy wind in our faces. Sometimes in these situations, whether it’s a strong wind or steep hill, you start to feel tired and discouraged. But then it hits you, you remember what you are doing and why you are doing it. Come on wind! Is that the best you can do?! When you ride with Team In Training, the wind and the hills are tiny bumps compared to the obstacles that our honored heroes have fought and continue to fight. We ride to raise money to find a cure for leukemia, lymphoma and other blood cancers. So when we ride, we dare the wind to blow harder and we attack the hills with furious purpose because the battle we fight is not even comparable to the battle cancer patients have to fight. Their hill is much steeper, and the wind in their face is relentless, and that is why we are relentless. Relentless for a cure.

Thanks for reading! Continue to check back for more updates. This weekend will be a little different. My parents are going to down to Dallas for the weekend so I will be tackling the team ride and my dad will be riding solo down in Dallas (weather permitting). So check back early next week for an update from this weekend and please help out the cause if you can. On the right of the blog is a link to “Gary’s Fundraising Page.” Please click on that link and make a donation to the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society on my dad’s behalf and help us find the cure! Have a wonderful and safe weekend!

-Geoff “4-cylinder” Long

Actions

Information

2 responses

5 03 2010
Shani

Oh yes! That father of ours definitely sneaks out of work early on ride days! But the good thing about that is that he will have your tires pumped and bottles filled by the time you get there! It’s a fantastic way to manipulate the fact that you actually have to WORK til 5! GO TEAM!

5 03 2010
Dena

I just love reading these posts! Love your nickname too by the way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

