Today We Ride

23 02 2010

Seriously, we are riding today.  Sort of.  We are riding in the living room.  I know that sounds strange, but with the current weather conditions and how early it gets dark we have to make due with what we have.  Therefore, we ride inside.  Just take a look at the attached picture!

Our bikes setup to train indoors. Can’t wait for warmer weather and longer days!

Let me start over (from the beginning).  As many of you may (or may not) know, the Longs are riding!  Two years ago, my dad and sister rode their bikes (bicycles, not motorcycles) 100 miles around Lake Tahoe, Nevada and raised thousands of dollars for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.  They ambushed the hills of Nevada, dove head first into the challenge of fundraising, and when they emerged on the other side they could be seen basking in the glory of success!  Sort of…

Here’s the real story: Although my father and sister were supremely successful in their goals (1. raise around $8,000 for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society to defeat these sinister blood cancers, and 2. complete the 100 mile endurance bike ride to honor and remember those who have fought and are currently fighting blood cancers) THE JOB ISN’T DONE.  Unfortunately, in the last 2 years we have not found the one final cure to end the blight of blood cancer.  Advances are being made though! Donations to the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society have had a direct impact on the establishment of chemotherapy, the development of Gleevec to treat chronic myelogenous leukemia and other cancers, pioneering bone marrow transplants, and many other great discoveries.  Donations continue to go directly to the research and development of new technologies with the hopes of one day finding a cure.  In addition, donations are used to provide education and support to patients, survivors and families of those battling these terrible diseases.  The point I’m trying to make is MORE WORK NEEDS TO BE DONE.

My dad, sister, and those of you who donated to their cause did an amazing thing and now I’m here to put the call out again.  We haven’t found the cure yet, but I’m confident we will.  My family is relentlessly committed to this cause.  As I already told you, a few years back my dad and sister raised the money and completed the 100 mile Lake Tahoe bike ride for this cause (with the support of my mother who attended the rides to haul gear, food, and supplies).  Before that, both my sisters took up the charge to raise money and complete the San Diego Marathon for Team In Training and the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.  Last year, I committed to raise the money and complete the San Antonio Marathon (unfortunately, I was unable to attend the event due to persistent injuries during training).  But now I’m back, and I’ve brought reinforcements.  This time I’m bringing my bike, and my dad is back in action for another round.  And we are relentless for a cure!

Here’s the plan: My dad and I will each be raising $4,000 for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society through their Team In Training program.  We will be training daily to complete the 100 mile America’s Most Beautiful Bike Ride at Lake Tahoe, NV on June 6, 2010.  But we have a problem, we can’t do it on our own.  We need YOUR help.  Luckily, I completed my fundraising last year while training for the marathon, but my dad is just getting started!  He needs to raise his $4,000 and we are asking you to help the cause.  We won’t cure cancer by riding 100 miles, but your donation might be the last dollar for the research grant that will find the cure.

We ride our bikes for the cause. We ride our bikes to raise awareness of the cause. We ride our bikes in memory of those who were taken by these terrible diseases. We ride our bikes to show our support of those currently fighting. We ride our bikes in honor of those who fought and won. We ride our bikes so you know that we are serious, and we seriously need your help.  So please, follow the link below and dig as deep as you can. Make a donation on my dad’s fundraising page. Make a donation in honor of someone in your life who has been touched by these diseases.  Make a donation so we can end this battle. On behalf of myself, my family, and everyone who has been touched by blood cancers, thank you for your support and GO TEAM!!

DONATE TO GARY LONG’S TEAM IN TRAINING FUNDRAISING!

Actions

Information

2 responses

24 02 2010
Dena

I am so proud of you all!! I’m also very impressed that you have found a way to ride inside! Love you both!

24 02 2010
Shani

WOW! You are so great with words. It brought a little tear to my eye. It wasn’t because I’m jealous of all that training up ahead either! Okay, maybe I am a little jealous! Great web page and I look forward to hearing about all the hills, saddle pains, wind, did I mention hills? But I can honestly say when you cross that finish line it is the most amaizing feeling and all the hard work is so worth it! GO TEAM!!!

Leave a Reply

